January 03, 2017 10:00 AM EST to February 28, 2017 11:45 PM EST

Online Registration

The 2017 Star Award Contest for Published Women’s Fiction

This contest is designed exclusively for the published women’s fiction author. First round judging is by readers of Women’s Fiction, the final round by librarians.

If you are an international applicant, then please reach out to: staraward@womensfictionwriters.org to process your registration.

The Star Award Contest has only two categories.  It’s open to all women’s fiction novels* published in 2016, from contemporary to historical, commercial to literary, with romance or without, as long as the story’s focus is on the main character's emotional journey. Publication date will be verified by the book's copyright page.

The second category is ‘Outstanding Debut’. To be eligible, the entry must be the author’s debut novel (in any genre). A debut novel may be entered in the general category as well (entry fee paid twice).

*Not sure if your manuscript fits under the women’s fiction umbrella? See below under “Contest Eligibility”

The Star Award Contest is limited to the first 50 entries.  The entries with the top three (3) scores will be declared finalists and will advance to the final round, to be judged by librarians who enjoy reading Women’s Fiction.

Important Dates

Contest Opens for WFWA members: January 3, 2017 (10:00 am ET)

Contest Opens for non-WFWA members (providing the entry limit has not been reached): January 15, 2017

Contest closes to entries: January 31, 2017

All entries must be received by the coordinator: February 15, 2017 

Finalists Announced: May 16, 2017

Finalists books must be received by the coordinator for final judging: May 31, 2017

Winners Announced: during the 2017 WFWA Retreat (to be held September 20-24, 2017)

Entry Submission Details

Preliminary Round: Complete the entry form, pay registration fee, and mail three (3) copies of the printed book to the following address:

Star Award Contest
P.O. Box 10361
Midland, TX 79702

Final Round: Mail three (3) copies of the printed book to the following address:

Star Award Contest
P.O. Box 10361
Midland, TX 79702

Entry Fee

$40 WFWA Members (select Member Ticket)
$50 non-WFWA Members

Entrants who agree to be judges for WFWA’s 2017 Rising Star Contest for unpublished Women’s Fiction, will pay $30. (Select the Judges ticket to recieve this discount)

Rules & FAQs

(Click the “+” icon to toggle open for details. Click again to close.)

Contest Eligibility

Contest Rules & Definitions

Announcement of Finalists & Final Round


Questions? Contact the Star Award coordinator at staraward@womensfictionwriters.org


Registration will open via the WFWA website on January 3, 2017 (at 10 am E.T.).

* Even if your book is available in e-version only, you’ll need a traditionally bound, printed version in order to enter the contest.